You're reading: Posts Tagged: Naylor Prize and Lectureship

2017 LMS prize winners announced

The London Mathematical Society has announced the winners of its various prizes and medals for this year.

Here’s a summary of the more senior prizes:

  • Alex Wilkie gets the Pólya prize for “his profound contributions to model theory and to its connections with real analytic geometry.”
  • Peter Cameron gets a Senior Whitehead prize for “his exceptional research contributions across combinatorics and group theory.” Peter has written a rare horn-tooting post on his excellent blog about winning the prize.
  • Alison Etheridge gets a Senior Anne Bennett prize “in recognition of her outstanding research on measure-valued stochastic processes and applications to population biology; and for her impressive leadership and service to the profession.”
  • John King gets a Naylor prize for “his profound contributions to the theory of nonlinear PDEs and applied mathematical modelling.”

The Berwick prize goes to Kevin Costello, and Whitehead prizes go to  Julia Gog, András Máthé, Ashley Montanaro, Oscar Randal-Williams, Jack Thorne, and Michael Wemyss.

Read the full announcement at the LMS website.

Call for nominations for 2013 LMS Prizes

The London Mathematical Society has opened nominations for its 2013 prizes, to “recognise and celebrate achievements in and contributions to mathematics”. In 2013 the Society expects to award:

  • the De Morgan Medal — “the Society’s premier award for contributions to mathematics”;
  • the Senior Whitehead Prize — for “work in, influence on or service to mathematics, or in recognition of lecturing gifts in the field of mathematics”;
  • the Naylor Prize and Lectureship — for “work in, influence on and contributions to applied mathematics and/or the applications of mathematics and lecturing gifts”;
  • the Berwick Prize — “in recognition of an outstanding piece of mathematical research actually published by the Society during the eight years ending on 31 December 2012”;
  • and, up to four Whitehead Prizes — for “work in and influence on mathematics”.

More information about the prizes and how to make appropriate nominations is available at the LMS website. The closing date for nominations is Friday 18 January 2013.